First step the hardest?

Hi everyone! I am writing this because I have been waffling about the idea of writing a blog for a while. I decided that if I put something, anything, on here, it will make it tangible and easier to come back in the future and add more rather than being paralyzed over a blank slate. I am hoping to mainly write about things at least somewhat related to biology/nature/scientific inquiry, but may stray to other topics. I paraphrased Stephen Jay Gould in the tagline. His original quote applied to evolutionary biologists but I think it could be broadened to all scientists: “All [evolutionary biologists/ecologists/scientists] know that variation itself is nature’s only irreducible essence… I had to place myself amidst the variation.” We shall see if my writing lives up to such pithy eloquence. As for the first blog post, I will put something up that I actually wrote 2 or 3 years ago but had hosted on a google site that was rarely if ever visited. I think it embodies the spirit of this blog and of my worldview, tying together as it does biology, language, statistical inference, and natural variation.

Leave a Reply

